Home

Welcome

Looking Ahead: SPT 2014 Conference

We are excited about the 2014 SPT conference.  The following is the information about the upcoming conference:

Dates: June 19-21, 2014
Place: Courtyard Marriott in Decatur, Georgia.
Theme: “Pastoral Theological Engagements with Positive Psychology”
Plenary speakers: Matthias Beier, Karen Scheib, and Fulgence Nyengele. 
Luncheon Speaker: Carolyn Bohler
Work-In-Progress: Bruce Rogers-Vaughn and Pamela Cooper-White (This year, we have two works-in-progress)

A total of five workshops will be offered, and we are currently accepting proposals.  The workshop topic need not be the same as the conference theme.  Proposals (one paragraph) should be sent to islee577@yahoo.com by December 1. 

Eight study groups will meet at the conference.  Directly contact the chairpersons for the guidelines of paper proposals and deadlines.  

  1. The Church and Christian Formation: Leanna Fuller (lfuller@pts.edu) and Charles Scalise (cscalise@fuller.edu).
  2. Religious Practices and Pastoral Research: Leonard Hummel (lhummel@ltsg.edu), Mary Moschella (mary.moschella@yale.edu), Raynard Smith (rsmith@nbts.edu)
  3. Embodiment: Jennifer Baldwin (jbaldwin@lstc.edu), Christina Jones Davis (christina.jones.davis@gmail.com), Don Rickard ( drickard@du.edu)
  4. Brain Sciences and Pastoral Theology: David Hogue (david.hogue@garrett.edu) and Esther Acolatse (ea19@duke.edu)
  5. Intercultural and Interreligious Dialogue: Gregory Ellison (gelli01@emory.edu) and Kathleen Greider (kgreider@cst.edu)
  6. Postcolonialism, Globalization, and Pastoral Care: Cedric Johnson (cjohnson@wesleyseminary.edu) and Fulgence Nyengele (fnyengele@mtso.edu)
  7. Theological Dimensions of Family Study Group (TDFSG): Penny L. Taylor (PennyLeeTalor@yahoo.com) and William G. “Bill” Ressl billressl@yahoo.com

There will be a pre-conference workshop for racial/ethnic pastoral theologians and practitioners on June 18 (dinner) and in the morning on June 19 (presentations and dialogue).  More details on the conference will be provided in the spring newsletter.

Looking Ahead: Conference Sites

We are scheduled to meet in the following city in year 2015: Denver

 

 

© Copyright 2009 Society for Pastoral Theology.
For problems regarding this website, please contact societyforpastoraltheology@yahoo.com.

 

 

Mission Statement

Annual Meeting

Publications

Newsletter

Membership

Doctoral Programs

Study Groups

Contact Information

Society Bibliography

Other Resources